Flickr

This page describes our privacy practices with respect to Flickr . For additional information on how Oath treats your personal information, please visit our Privacy Policy .

Account Information

  • In your profile privacy settings, you can control who is able to see different parts of your profile, including but not limited to, email address, name, current city and other information you choose to make public.
  • In your Settings, you may also select to hide photos or your profile from searches on flickr.com, as well as from searches on 3rd party sites that use the Yahoo API, including Yahoo Image Search. We will request that 3rd party sites respect your settings, but these parties are not under our control and updating may take some time. When you use Flickr, you are not anonymous to us.

Information Collection, Use and Sharing Practices 

  • In your Privacy Settings , you can choose to make your photos default to public for anyone to access, you can restrict access to a limited number of other Flickr users, or you can keep those photos private so only you can access them. If you do not change your settings, your photos will be public by default, unless uploaded using mobile or desktop Auto-Uploadr features. On each photo page, you will also find more granular controls to change each photo setting. We may use the information we collect from public photos to match and serve targeted advertising (across devices and both on and off of our services) and provide relevant advertising based on your activity, inferred interests and location data information. Advertisements shown to you may also be related to our analysis of your photos and textual information, such as metadata, including notes, associated with the photo you are seeing, or the search term you entered.
  • We use information collected from all photos on Flickr for the following general purposes:
    • Provide, maintain, and improve, and develop relevant product features, content and services. This includes analyzing the content and other information you store or transmit when you use our services; 
    • Fulfill your requests and when authorized by you;
    • Improve our services;
    • Conducting research and supporting innovation of engaging products and services;
    • Provide depersonalized analytics and reporting to internal and external parties, including, partners, third-parties and the public. This may include reports regarding trends regarding the use and content within Flickr;
    • Provide location-based services, search results, and other content relevant to you; and
    • To better enable our security systems to detect and defend against fraudulent, or abusive, or unlawful activity.
  • If you turn on auto-upload functionality anywhere on Flickr, all photos and videos on that device will be automatically uploaded to Flickr. These photos and videos will be stored as private on Flickr until you choose to share them. You can turn off Auto-Uploadr at any time in your app settings. Auto-upload photos may be used for the purposes discussed above.
  • When you give us permission, we may also access your camera or device to provide other features, services or to improve our offerings and products.

Location Information and EXIF Data

  • When you upload any photo or video with geographical data (i.e. from a mobile device) or manually geotag your photo or video, the photo or video’s location can be shown on a map.
  • EXIF Data
    • Exchangeable Image File Format (“EXIF”) data is a record of the settings and other relevant metadata inserted by a digital camera or device when you take a photo or video such as camera or device type, aperture, shutter speed, focal length, and location , among other information.
    • Unless you turn off EXIF data on your camera or device or remove it from the picture before uploading to Flickr, Flickr receives and stores EXIF data for all photos or videos. By default, Flickr will display a link showing EXIF data about photos or video you upload. The link shows on all your individual photo or video pages, and displays the make and model of the camera or device you used to take the shot. You can elect to hide this link from users in "Settings" under the “Privacy & Permissions” tab.
    • Some cameras or devices can store GPS (location) coordinates in a photo's EXIF header. If you like, Flickr can import that data and use it to place your photos on your map automatically .
  • Geofences
    • A geofence is a hotspot on a map that has special default geo privacy settings. These are useful for locations such as "home" or "school" that you would like to make more private than your global default. Click here to create your geofences.
    • You can also set your geo preferences to decide who can see the location of your photos by default. Further, you can change the geo preferences setting on individual photos by clicking on the map to the right of each photo.

Image Recognition

  • We use image recognition algorithms to analyze and scan all photos and videos to help you organize them, to make it easier to search them, and for the uses described under our “Information Collection, Use & Sharing Practices” heading. For example, the algorithms might identify and tag scenes, actions, objects, public figures, or other things of interest.

Sharing with Third Parties

  • You may connect your account to other sites to share your photos directly to other social sharing services and blogs.
  • You can set a preference that determines whether sharing features (such as Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, and others) are shown for other people on your public content, which can be accessed through the "Allow Sharing" setting. When your account to these parties, the default setting is to allow sharing, which will give Oath and other users the right to share your public content.
  • Your Guest Pass history allows you to manage Guest Passes you have created for sharing your photos with others.
  • On the desktop Flickr experience, you may give certain Oath and third party apps different levels of permissions to interact with your account, share information and to take advantage of things like photo editing tools. If you want to stop using one of these apps and revoke your permission, click the "Remove Permission" link under “sharing and extending” on your account page and remove that permission.

Practices Regarding Your Ability to Update or Delete Information

  • You can delete individual photos that you have on Flickr by selecting the photos that you wish to delete, then clicking the delete button. Or you can delete groups of photos using batch operations.
  •  Visit your Settings to edit your profile, default privacy settings for photos, and more.

Marketing & Subscriptions

Flickr Pro

  • We will not use content within your active Flickr Pro account for advertising. When you use Flickr Pro, you are subject to the Flickr Pro Terms of Service.

Other